The Hypocrisy of Today

White Americans, what, nothin’ better to do?
Why don’t you kick yourself out?
You’re an immigrant too.
Jack White

Despair

I’ve never understood it. Two human beings function in essentially the same manner; we eat, we shower, we shit, we sometimes get irritated by traffic or wake groggy to an early morning alarm. We pay taxes (or at least we should), we sometimes get distracted at work, we worry about how much money we earn. And yet, one human being will spend every day with genuine contempt, sometimes even hatred, for the other human being purely because they are of a different race, religion, or country of origin.

It seems to me that going through daily life with such a dark cloud around your heart would be particularly burdensome. I would think that their shoulders would slouch under the sheer weight of it, but that is not what happens; these racists and bigots wear this hatred as a point of pride, and very little can knock them off their pedestal of mental gymnastics. That is what confuses me more than anything.

In an act that spits in the face of every World War Two veteran, hundreds of cowardly white supremacists* marched with torches and Nazi flags on University of Virginia’s campus. I would be willing to bet that more than a few of the participants had relatives who fought against Hitler and his genocidal rise to power.

*Can we stop calling them the “alt-right” now? That kind of name just legitimizes their sham of a movement.

It’s a travesty that so many people have been brainwashed to this degree. I see no difference between white supremacists and ISIS. None. The sheer definition of terrorism is using violence and fear to get what they want, and that is exactly what these pale impotents have been doing for a long time; Nazi’s and their sympathizers are the longest-tenured terrorist group in the world, and I wish even one-tenth of the attention that we pay to stopping ISIS was paid to stopping them.

Heather Hayer, a 32-year old resident of Charlottesville, was killed when a white supremacist terrorist intentionally drove his car into a crowd of anti-fascism protestors. Her death is a tragedy; it would not have happened if Hillary Clinton had been elected president.

All my life, I’ve believed in the power of words; I’ve believed they can change minds, fill hearts and educate. I’ve believed they can legislate, curate and create ideas that personify all of our instinctive resilience against evil, malfeasance and fear. The needs of many should always outweigh the wants of a few. In the past year, we have seen what happens when a country founded on racism elects a president who makes no qualms about his allegiance with the KKK.

“Today, I consider myself the luckiest man on the face of the Earth… and I know that I might’ve been given a bad break, but I’ve got an awful lot to live for.”

Lou Gehrig died a few short months after giving this speech. When one steps back to consider the gravity and brevity of these words in the face of a terminal illness, one cannot help but be left in awe of Gehrig’s conviction that he’s done, and will continue to do, the best he can.

I don’t believe in words anymore, which is a strange thing to say considering that I am typing so many here. I hope to one day regain this belief, but if someone who brags about sexual assault can be elected to the highest office in the land, then I’m not so sure words mean anything anymore. Donald Trump is the greatest fraud perpetrated on the American voter. He had 60 million of them convinced he was Christian, despite the fact that he had cheated on each of his three wives.*

*My God, can you imagine what people would have been saying about Hillary or President Obama if THEY were the ones who had five children from three different spouses?

He had 60 million of them convinced that he was a man of the people, despite his obsession with gold, including those of the parachute variety.

He had 60 million of them convinced that he was trustworthy, despite his decades-long reputation as a con artist of the filthiest degree.

Not all Trump supporters are racist, but all racists are Trump supporters.

It’s going to take decades to truly understand how and why a country decided to regress its progress by 100 years, but I think it comes down to fraud and laziness. He was elected on a mountain of lies. There is nothing redeemable about him, or his entire family, save for Barron, for whom I feel terrible. I can’t imagine being ten years old and having to endure what his father is doing.

I’m honestly not sure how long America, as a country and as an ideal, can keep going like this. I sincerely hope that truth, kindness and understanding will triumph over the tyrannical whims of our current president.

Hope

This is Heather Heyer. Her final Facebook post read, “If you’re not outraged, then you’re not paying attention.”

It’s the kids. The kids understand that this hatred and bigotry gets us no where. I know this because the reactions to such racism have been wonderful. They donated to Planned Parenthood in Mike Pence’s name, they emasculate the white supremacy effort by turning them into a meme, they show up in much larger crowds to celebrate peace and love amongst everyone.

I see no greater evidence of this than at the San Diego Pride Festival. There are times when I just want to find someone who has bigoted thoughts or actions and tell them to just watch. At the end of the day I would ask them one question: did you see anyone who wasn’t happy? My hope would be that they would stop, and think to themselves: no, I didn’t see anyone who wasn’t smiling. No, I didn’t see anyone who was talking about “ending white privilege.” No, I didn’t see anyone who was angry. I have no doubt the same can be said for Pride festivals all over the world.

It’s the creativity with which this new generation combats hate that gives me hope. I can freely admit that I do not have that creativity. I have anger. When I see a Muslim house of worship was bombed, or a police officer acquitted of charges after killing an unarmed black kid, or the proposed banning of transgender military members (I say “proposed” because I am certain that President Trump doesn’t know that policy is not made through a tweet) I feel nothing but anger and contempt toward such cowardice and small mindedness.

But this new generation kills it with kindness, humor and love. I know they feel anger as well, but they express it in a much more positive and progressive manner. I have hope because one day, my generation will be old, and these kids will be running the show; that’s something which I truly believe we will see one day.

One day, I hope racism and bigotry will be a nonstarter; I hope that the majority will see why Black Lives Matter, why marriage equality is crucial, and why universal healthcare is the only way we as humans can collectively live healthier and safer lives. One day, I hope bigoted white men will just grow the fuck up and stop blaming immigrants and black people for their problems.

One day, I hope there is a statue of Heather Heyer in Charlottesville. I hope it serves as a representation of courage in the face of evil, and an inspiration to all of mankind that we should never stop trying to do better. Hate is easy; love takes work.

And we should never stop working.

This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

